Taman Ayun Temple in the ancient Balinese language meaning “The Temple in the middle of a beautiful garden.” This temple complex is the only temple complex of Bali that still has the characteristic terraced roof that can only be found in the structure of ancient buildings in Bali, called the Roof of Meru. This temple was built in the 16th century by King Mengwi (now the area where the Pura Taman Ayun is still named Mengwi), as a shrine to the gods of Balinese Hinduism. This temple including Cultural Heritage Sites included in the UNESCO list.
Pura Taman Ayun covers an area of 250m by 100m. Originally dating from 1634, it was restored and enlarged in 1937. The gates, split gates and walls were renovated in 1949, and a pavillion, called bale bengong was added. In 1972, the black fiber roofs were replaced, and in 1976, a pavillion tower, called bale kulkul was added.
Pura Taman Ayun consists of a forecourt, a central court and a spacious inner court. The temple is surrounded by a moat with lotuses, giving it the feel of a garden sanctuary. Beyond the moat, the temple lies on a slightly raised ground. A tall stone gateway separates the forecourt from the central court, while the inner court is surrounded by a stone wall. Frangipanni are grown in profusion all around the wall. Within the inner court are merus, dedicated to various deities and spirits. In total, there are 50 shrines and pavillions in the temple complex.