Mt Leuser National Park is a national park covering 7,927 km² in northern Sumatera, Indonesia, straddling the border of North Sumatera and Aceh provinces, a fourth portion and three fourths portion, respectively. The national park, settled in the Barisan mountain range, is named after Mt Leuser (3,119 m), and protects a wide range of ecosystems. An orangutan sanctuary at Bukit Lawang is located within the park. Together with Bukit Barisan Selatan and Kerinci Seblat national parks, it forms a World Heritage Site, the Tropical Rainforest Heritage of Sumatra.

Mt Leuser is one of three prominent peaks on the Leuser Range in the Indonesian province of Aceh. The range lies to the south and west of the Alas River that flows east from the Gayo highlands of central Aceh before turning south through Karo Batak country in North Sumatera province. The Leuser region is of ancient uplifted formations – it is non-volcanic. The region is billed as the largest wilderness area in South-East Asia. This entry establishes the names, altitudes, locations and prominence of the three peaks, ‘Tanpa Nama’, Loser and Leuser, on the Leuser Range. It is often assumed, incorrectly, that the highest peak is Mount Leuser when in fact it is Mount ‘Tanpa Nama’. Mt Leuser is the lowest of the three peaks.

Mt Leuser National Park is one of the two remaining habitats for Sumatran Orangutans (Pongo abelii). In 1971, Herman Rijksen established the Ketambe Research Station, a specially designated research area for the orangutan. Other mammals found in the park are the Sumatran elephant, Sumatran tiger, Sumatran rhinoceros, siamang, mainland serow, sambar deer and leopard cat.

After researchers put 28 camera-traps in July 2011, 6 months later the researchers found one male and six females and predicted the population is not more than 27 Sumatran rhinos which total population predicted is around 200 in Sumatera and Malaysia, half the population of 15 years ago.

This park is one of the Conservation Areas in Indonesia, covering an area of 1,094,692 hectares. Administratively it is located in two provinces : Aceh and North Sumatera Provinces. If you come to this national park, you can start from Bukit Lawang, North Sumatera, where the impressive orangutans live. In this park, there are about 130 species, such us Sumatran tigers, elephants, rhinoceroes, siamangs, apes, leopards, reptiles, fish, and also 325 species of bird.

Sumber :

Leave a Reply