Fort Kalamata was built by the Portuguese on the island of Ternate in Indonesia’s Maluku Islands. Formerly known as Benteng Kayu Merah (Red Wood Fort), it was first built in 1540 in support of Portuguese efforts to monopolise the lucrative clove trade and to entrench their dominance over other European powers. It was rebuilt by the Dutch in 1610 who became the dominant power in Maluku. It is located at the south eastern corner of the island 1 km south of Bastiong on the edge of the water. It is now open to the public.
Built in 1540 by Antonio Pigaveta of Portuguese as a fortress for the expansion of Portuguese territory on the island of Ternate. However after the Portuguese left Ternate 1575, Spain occupied the fort and used as a trading post. In 1609 the Dutch fort was restored under the leadership of Pieter Both and used as a fortress of defense. 13-16 February 1624 the Dutch Governor and Deputy Le Febre Admiral Geen Huigen Schapenham attempt to repair the fort, but later abandoned. In 1627 van gills Zeyst leave the castle and later occupied by the Spanish until 1663. Besides being used as atrading post, the fort is also alled the Castle of Santa Lucia or the Red Fort Wood was also used as a center to launch an offensive against the Dutch. On 29 April 1798 by troops captured Fort Kalamatta Kaicil Nuku (Sultan Tidore 19th) who assisted the troops and British ships. The fort was repaired byMajor Lutzow in 1799. As a result of this fortress being betrayed into the hands of England in 1801, but then the Dutch took them back. The Dutch occupied the fort until 1810. Resident van Helback 1843 officially emptied of this castle. The fort became poorly maintained and gradually became a slum. Kalamata name is taken from the name of a Prince of Ternate Kaicil Kalamata, brother of the Sultan Mandarsjah and uncle of Sultan Kaicil SiboriAmsterdam (1675-1690). Prince Kalamatta died in Makassar 1676.
Fort Kalamata is built by the portuguese in 1540, which you can find in Ternate, North Maluku Province. Fort Kalamata is also called as Red Wood Fort (Benteng Kayu Merah) because it is located in Kelurahan Kayu Merah (Red Wood Village), South Ternate. The fort was originally named Santa Lucia, but became known as Fort Kalamata, which came from the name prince Kalimata, the younger brother of The Sultan Of Ternate Madarsyah.
For Kalamata was first built by portuguese (Fransisco Serao) in 1540 to face the spanish attack of Rum, Tidore. Later, the fort was restored by the Governor General of the Netherland Indies, Pieter Both, in 1609. Fort kalamata was occupied by the spanish in 1625 after emptied by Geen Huigen Schapen (Portuguese). After Spain left, the fort was occupied by the Dutch. Then the fort was repaired by Major Lutzow in 1799. In 1994, fort Kalamata was restored by the government of Indonesia and inaugurated in 1997. In 2005, the government of Ternate renovated this fort by building yard and house for the guards.
Fort kalamata is designed to resemble the four compass points that which has four bastions pointed end and viewfinder holes. This fort is located on the coastline, and from the back of the fort we are able to see Tidore Island and Maitara Island.
Sumber dari : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fort_Kalamata
Sumber dari : http://www.indonesia-tourism.com/forum/showthread.php?174-Fort-Kalamata-Maluku-Indonesia
Sumber dari : http://indonesia-guide4u.blogspot.com/2015/06/fort-kalamata-ternate-history-tour.html