Fort Amsterdam (also formerly known as Blokhuis Amsterdam or Amsterdam Fortress) is a fort and a blockhouse in Hila town, Leihitu Subdistrict, Central Maluku Regency, Ambon Island, Indonesia. The blockhouse was built in 1637 by the Dutch East Indies Company.This fortress is the second fortress of the Dutch in Ambon City. The first fortress named ‘Compaigne Van Verre’, which is located in Seith village. A blind writer named George Everhard Rumph ever stay in this fortress. He wrote an article about the botanic live in Ambon.
The Fort Amsterdam is located in Hila, Ambon. Amsterdam fortress built by the Dutch in the early 17th century, when the spice trade began to be implemented in Ambon. This fortress is located not far from the Old Church Hila. Amsterdam is building a fortress built by the Dutch in Ambon, after Kasteel van Verre. The fort was built after Vereenigde Oost Indische Compagnie (VOC) was founded in the Netherlands by Heeren Zeventien. A historian and observer of nature who works for the German nation soldier named George Everhard Rumphius Holland has lived in this castle in the period 1660 – 1670, and wrote a book about the flora and fauna of Ambon. Amsterdam fortress was renovated in 1993.
Amsterdam is an old fortress that has been building for hundreds of years, and became inseparable from the history of VOC control in Ambon. This fortress is located on the beach is very quiet and beautiful. This place can be reached by car from Ambon for about an hour. If you use public transportation, visitors can catch a bus from the Ambon District Hila.
Sumber : https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fort_Amsterdam,_Ambon